Friends of Mozart - Introduction Series: the Argus Quartet

FREE , 7:30pm

Introduction Series: the Argus Quartet

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 | 7:30pm

Friends of Mozart is pleased to present, as part of its Introduction Series of young musicians, the Argus Quartet in a program of Haydn, Mozart, and Mendelssohn.  The quartets on the program by Haydn and Mozart are key works in each composer’s chamber music achievement and reflect mutual regard and influence.  Mendelssohn, though born 18 years after Mozart’s death, was one of the most gifted prodigies of the early 19th century and an assured composer, whose brief life forms parallels to that of Mozart.  The String Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 12, No. 1, written when Mendelssohn was 20, is a work of remarkable expressive scope and lyrical exuberance.

Joseph Haydn, String Quartet in B minor, Op. 33, No. 1
W. A. Mozart, String Quartet in G major, K. 387
Felix Mendelssohn, String Quartet No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 12

Clara Kim, violin
Jason Issokson, violin
Dana Kelley, viola
Joann Whang, cello

For more info contact  Mario R. Mercado, 201/536-0676 or mariormercado [at] aol [dot] com

« Back